worldcup 2010


Tuesday, 1 June 2010

world cup 1982 final

The 1982 FIFA World Cup,
The 12th FIFA World Cup, was held in Spain from 13 June to 11 July, 1982. Spain was chosen as hosts by FIFA in July 1966. The tournament was won by Italy, after beating West Germany 3–1 in the final. Italy equalled Brazil's record of winning the World Cup 3 times. For the first time the World Cup was expanded to feature 24 teams, 8 more than in the previous tournament 1978.

Main article: 1982 FIFA World Cup qualification
Qualifying countries

Absentees from the finals were those of 1974 and 1978 runners-up Netherlands (eliminated by Belgium and France), North America's power Mexico (eliminated by El Salvador), and 1974 and 1978 participant Sweden (eliminated by Scotland and Northern Ireland). England, Czechoslovakia, Belgium, and the Soviet Union were back in the Finals after a 12-year absence. Yugoslavia were also back after missing the 1978 tournament. Algeria, Cameroon, Honduras, Kuwait, and New Zealand all participated in the World Cup for the first time.

No comments:

Post a Comment